Friday, October 9, 2009

Some thoughts about the trend of New Media

Ever since I have started taking some media courses here at WSU, I realise that what I had in mind about "news" and "journalism" was outdated. Maybe I am an old-school type; I love reading the newspapers and magazines because I appreciate the work that people put in in each production.

I write, and every time I try to "report" a story, I know how much effort I put into crafting a masterpiece. I want the information to be accurate and wholesome. I want readers to finish reading and be thinking "whoa, I didn't know that before".

Well, in this journalism seminar and the other communication class I am taking, I have started using technologies like Twitter, Real-time web search and all the other fancy trend-tracking gadgets. I don't know whether I am stupid, lazy or old, I don't like the idea of Twitter or the trend that "readers decide what's 'hot' and what's 'on' tonight at the news?".
And yesterday when I was at the REC centre, I realised once again the downsides of the current "interactive" trend in journalism.

One of the motivations I had to go to the gym was because I can watch TV. I love watching TV and especially documentaries and news. I love the feeling that I get to learn something, something fun, but also something intellectual, something enriching. And yesterday, during that 30-minute exercise, I got to watch AC 360. Well, I don't actually know what kind of journalist he is, but I've seen some of the things he's done. They used to be very meaningful and inspiring in a way. I think that was the job of a journalist; to bring valuable news or information from parts of the unknown world to those who can't do it. But yesterday, he was talking about Sarah Palin's grandson's father and how he was working out in the gym to prepare for his photoshots for Playgirl.
I just saw a face of helplessness in him, as if he was thinking "Gosh, is this why I became a journalist?". Well I know that the topic was probably one of the top 10 most read stories in the country, but still I get so fed up with all these. You turn to different channels, and they're pretty much about the same, useless, trivial things because they are what "people want to know". What about the responsibility for journalists to inform people about things they DON'T want to know but somehow have to? Okay, that might be too strong, but what about things that are important?

Then I switched to another programme; it was supposed to be a funny show. But all the jokes were about fat women who don't get laid or drunks guys who were 56 years old and trying to be cool by talking foully about women. I mean, WHAT IS SO FUNNY ABOUT IT?
What is our media becoming? Are these the "most watched" videos in this country and in this world? I thought human civilisation is supposed to be going forward?